Canadian Art

HEY APATHY! Mini-Documentry of Canadian Art. This is another video sketch I made using a compilation of footage from various animations, time lapses, ink drawings, and photographs I've collected over the past 9 years. The video sketch chronologically collages the development of my ink drawings as they progress from simplistic nihilistic interpretations of a faceless city of gears to the more recent and intricate depictions of a city made up of diversity, individuality and possibly hopeful characters. The idea being that through my constant and aggresive attempts to exhibit, interact, and create artworks in the public forum, I was able to redfine both myself and my artworks and quite possibly grow to better understand the mechanics of the metropolis. This process, which I have deemed "the Interview", allowed me to actually investigate the phenomena in question and resulted in the drastic and progressive development of the "HEY APATHY!" artworks and ideologies. I made this rough sketch with windows movie maker and the live score was done with a bunch of my friends during our weekly social gathering in which we pretend to be musicians. It was really fun to score as we played the video on a small monitor and I got to conduct the band according to the images. Maybe it's not the tightest or most professional craftmenship but it definetly gives us an idea of what we are towards in the future.The whole production took about 6 hours to make , and the score was done in 2 takes. The band was made up of Mark Vansyl on drums, Mike DeCrook on guitar, Andrez Tarasuik, and Drunken Danny on vocal & percussion with me throwing in a little effects keyboard and the weird trumpet at the end. As I get closer to finishing the new comic book series (http://www.heyapathy-comics-art.com/underground-comics-index.html  ) I plan to create some new animations and spent some time putting together a tight score. I think it would be awesome to project the cartoons and perform the music live at a gallery or theatre gala event.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

