Drawing Comics

Sometimes I have to wonder why and how in the world did I ever get sucked into drawing all these damn pictures. Really what is the point? For the most part people ignore, criticize, misrepresent and then profit from my laborious hours. I have often wished that I’d studied science or politics as those fields actually have an effect, albeit not always a positive one, on the functioning of society. Anyways when I get down on my vocation I tend to unconsciously grab a comic or book and start to escape. My personal library is small but exquisite and does not retain any inferior books. Therefore by page three or four (if not sooner) I tend to get these little shivers simultaneous with the raising hairs on my neck and I start to think about things and I remember reading these books as a child and adolescent. I remember being so inspired by the fantastic stories of Chris Claremont and stupendous Stan and then later on those of Shirow, Ellis, Gaiman and Moore, that I would jump up, grab my sketch book and start imitating the images from my favourite narrations. All these silly little scribbles do have an effect, they can inspire and teach, and even change the way the world works. I wouldn’t be half as sane (HA-HA-HA) or optimistic as I am if it wasn’t for art. And then I remember why I do this. It has always been a dream of mine to carry on the comics tradition in hopes of inspiring others to grab their sketch books and practice drawing my from my creations.

Now here’s the really cool part. I was trying to locate a press article on-line yesterday that I need for some proposal writing when I came across these images from a young artist named Jackie (The First two are practiced right out of the HEY APATHY! COMIC just like I used to do!!!, the others are inspired by the HEY APATHY free-form street style):

 

 

From Jackie's Blog "So, I'm usually really meticulous about planning out drawings, sketching outlining in pencil, etc. I was sitting in Starbucks today (I love me some Americanos) and I decided that I need to break away from that habit. Take a chance, live a little, yknow?

So here are two drawings that I did with just a brush pen and a fine liner. No pencil! How exciting! Grandparents! They are both wonderfully inspired by Mike Parsons and his lovely comics."

 

I CAN'T BELIEVE SOME ONE WAS ACTUALLY INSPIRED! Thanks for the Compliments! Jackie is an amazing artist in her own right and creates some wild and intricate artworks in using all kinds of cool styles.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

