MONSTER COMICS in the streets of NEW YORK

HEY APATHY! MONSTER COMICS in the streets of NEW YORK! Like any good little street artist and performer the time eventually comes when the show has to go to the world famous Washington Square Park in the middle of downtown Manhattan. With the help of my father and Julii we packed up some clothes and hit the road this past weekend. I set up my paper beside the giant arches and dove right into the comics! The park was seething with energy as dancers, gymnastics and musicians took center stage. Though it was to hot for me to work on a full scale performance as the afternoon rolled on I knelt down on the concrete and started my weird expressions on a 4 x 20 foot scroll amidst all the madness. It didn't take long before I remembered why I do this as people started to gather and stories started to fly. I met all sorts of new strangers from tourists to locals and had the most amazing time being part of the show. "The city is a giant gear but it is up to all the crazy characters moving through it to make it spin!" I replied to some audience inquires when one couple responded " Crazy Characters in New York? Imagine that!" The entire piece took about 3 hours to draw and went off with a surreal comics bang. Though painting in Toronto was always exhilarating nothing can compare to the awesome energy rising in New York! Geez there are a lot of people there. The entire trip was incredible and we saw many sights and strange cultures all blended together in the most monstrous of metropolis'. It has been over two years since I did any sort of renegade performances but the exhibition in the park felt as natural as can be. Having graduated from the streets as a time performer animator and comic book creator, the trip to NEW YORK seamlessly fitted my evolutionary course. Thanks to my family for setting up the adventure and thanks to all those weirdoes who engaged me in conversation! The plan has always been to find bigger and better ways to work on the public displays and I have obviously found a new home for the show. I'll be returning in the fall following my summer tour of Canadian exhibitions and can't hardly wait because I love NY! more street art at http://www.heyapathy-comics-art.com/monster-comics-street-art.html

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

