MONSTER COMICS at Toronto Comic Con

HEY APATHY! Alternative Monster Comics at the Toronto ComicCon this past weekend. I set up shop at the con on Saturday and Sunday exhibiting my books, t-shirts and fine art-prints while painting a 4 x 6 foot live mural performance. The drawing featured a horizon line city of gears perpetually propelled by a sea of strange, unique and crazy people. Above the buildings the vortex conspires churning itself into a hideous city monster! Thankfully, like all of my work the image was inspiried by my surroundings and a herd of superhumans can be seen flying tot he rescue. The show was awesome and especially busy on the Sunday. I met so many people and once again a mostly new audience though I was also glad to reconnect with some of my friends from the streets. The set up was small but really fun to operate.  I stood in the middle (were the gap is in the photo) and painted upside down as I shared stories with the crowds. I had my favourite larger peice right behind me and could easily point out any fable layed across my two tables. Some of my new aquaintances returned on several occassions to check on my progress and to learn more about the work. Unfortunetly I got so busy that I forgot to take picture until the end of the show. That's two poorly documented Comic Conventions in a row SHEESH!

 

more at www.heyapathy-comics-art.com  

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MONSTER COMICS at Toronto Comic Con

Leave a Reply

