MONSTER COMICS

HEY APATHY! MONSTER COMICS featuring Blackbeard Daunklweed, a weird mystic and patron of unusual arts. I first met Blackbeard when I was working as a street artist downtown Toronto. He'd approached my display after watching me for hours from the patio of the Black bull Tavern in which I generally performed in front back in those days. He told me that he was impressed with my skills and in particular in the speed which I could render my strange and surreal likenesses of the metropolis. Before leaving he mention , like so many others, that in the future he would have a use for my skills. Of course I judged him a derelict based on his stained cloths and his odour but he assured me, without my making any mention, that the stains and the odour were simply the result of a peculiar task he'd completed this morning and that I should not judge him by this appearance. Blackbeard leaned in a little too close and said some final conjectures guessing that I'd never seen a Hollywood movie, watched T.V. or read a magazine. I told that I had when I was younger but had forsaken such drivel by the age of 13. "Good enough" were his words before vanishing unnoticed and I wondered little more about the freak as I am used to such encounters working the streets. I've talked to all sorts of people from being an invited guest at one of the finest dinner tables in world to trading short conversation with escaped mental patients. Such is the life of a public performer! At any rate I didn't see nor think of that weird Blackbeard again until many years later when he appeared at my side offering me a considerable amount of money and the opportunity to travel in exchange for a series of commissioned portraits of unique people. Sometimes it's bet to say no regardless of the finances but hindsight is often easy to pronounce. The people were unique all right and the adventure nearly killed me so I've decided to share it with others as an ongoing  online comic on my website.  visit www.heyapathy-comics-art.com   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

