Surreal Comics Live Painting and Projections

HEY APATHY! Live Street Art and Video projections for Nuit Blanche! Tomorrow night Saturday Oct. 2, is the annual all-night art festival in Toronto. The city stays open from sunset to sunrise featuring tonnes of galleries, public installations , performances and of course, extended liquor licences. Officially my animations will be projected on the exterior walls of 401 Richmond Street while unofficially I’ll be performing at my old spot at Queen Street and Soho near Spadina. I haven’t been out there since last years event and am looking forward to revisiting the old stomping ground ( five years full time on that damned pavement!!!).

This years display is going to the best one yet as it will feature not only the live painting performance but a looped video projection of my animations and time-lapses. Finally after all this hard work I’m going to have a multi-media street intervention, which only makes sense as my work has taken a similar turn. Also of importance, to me at least, is that the music will be all original and certainly rocking. I’ll be using music made specifically for my work by artist’s Narsen Osutei and Mark vanZyl, ( and me too). As anyone who has seen my work before knows, the blasting rhythms I use to paint to are an integral part of the show. Though I have had live accompaniment on numerous occasions, as a matter of time constraints and financial limitations, these live scores generally consisted of impromptu drum sessions. This year we actually got our stuff together and recorded some electronic tracks.

So with any luck, baring technical difficulties and poor weather, tomorrow will be my first fully composed live multi-media installation. By next year the new animations, funded by the O.A.C., and we will be that much closer to performing a live orchestrated score simultaneous with the performance. Hope to see you all tomorrow night, bundle up and bring your imagination.

Getting ready for Nuit Blanche tomorrow, hope the weather holds! It has been a crazy week and a large portion of that time was spent editing together videos for the festival projections. Officially I’ll be showing animations on the exterior walls of Toronto’s 401 Richmond street, but unofficially I’ll be back in my old spot on Queen West. The first such performance since last years show. Hard to believe I practically lived there for five years. Well truth be told the streets are a harsh mistress and while I feel old for not doing so much anymore all I have to do is to look over at my animation stand. One glance at the cartoons and I realize that although one part of my life is dying, the process has given my art a whole new animation, a life that couldn’t have existed otherwise. Looking forward to seeing everyone out on the streets tomorrow. Super special thanks to my Dad for getting the gear together, to Julii for helping out, to Slavek Smeigel for the video and projections and to the musicians who went out of their way to make this happen and aren’t getting paid (yet). Don’t forget to get your weekly dosage of Surreal Comics!

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in street art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

