HEY APATHY! War of the Words

webcomics,stret art,comic book art,unusual, graffiti art,weird, drawings,ink drawing, contemporary art

HEY APATHY! Comics


HEY APATHY! COMICS ONLINE
My word another imaginary artistic year is drawing near it’s end. What that means is it’s grant writing season again. Oddly enough I began blogging around the time the awards and final submissions for the year were being filed (early spring 2020) and though it is only fall, the whole process is starting up again. I find the schedule quite strange as it puts us all to work just before the harsh winter months but tends not to pay off until the spring. This scheduling coincides with the busy “commercial” season in which there are constant exhibitions, festivals and commissions. This means a steady cash flow but less studio time. Then as winter approaches, and sales slow down, time grows in abundance. Of course the grant reports are due in Dec. with the expectation that the project will be complete and thus the money spent. Not that I’ve had any problems juggling the festivals and the studio this year, but it is of note to suggest that this grant schedule leaves the artist without funding for the most of, and certainly the most reclusive portion of, the Canadian winter. If it were up to me I’d prefer to see the grants submitted in the spring and awarded in the fall. That way the artist could make the best of both the commercial summer and the inescapably studio-bound winter. Alas as it stands I’ve got to write these grants and wait out the winter for any results.

Similarly it is also time to start scheduling next years events, exhibitions and festivals. I felt a huge relief on Oct 2 after completing the Nuit Blanche performance. It was my last show of 2010 ( unless something good pops up) and I felt a great weight lifted from my shoulders knowing I wouldn’t be hauling my stuff around again for a while. Well that release lasted for less than 2 weeks as I now have about a million other chores to take care of. As a full time representative and artist it’s a wonder I ever get any work done. Granted ( no pun intended) doing 1 big event a month and working with the support of the Ontario Arts Council, has given me a lot more time to develop extensive projects in comparison to the days as a full time street performer. Whilst working the street I would push an entire shopping cart full of “art” down to the street and basically build a portable gallery almost every day. Now a few weeks of hard research, writing, and planning has successfully permitted me to spend much more tine and energy on the production of the comics rather than the promotion. On the streets I considered the processes to be equal, often spending more time discussing and exhibiting the work than actually making it. Now I wouldn’t trade those outdoor experiences for all the gold in the world, yet at this stage in my development I am really excited to be in the studio making refined animations.

So that is were I am at, writing proposals again, just like I was when I started this blog. Here’s hoping I’ve gotten better at it. I think my track record is something like 1 success for every 3 attempts which by my calculations, means I’d better write a helluva lot of grant proposals this year in order to best cover my ass my next year.

About heyapathy

HEY APATHY! is an ongoing artistic investigation into the monstrous metropolis, the people, and the mechanics of being. Alternative Comics, surreal ink drawings, strange stories, street painting, murals and animation. Mike Parsons live in Toronto and draws lots of pictures.
This entry was posted in animation, comics, comics online, contemporary art, street art, surreal, Uncategorized, webcomics, weird tales and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

